New Album From Ian McLagan Due Out June 17


With the latest round of Faces reunion rumors simmering down, keyboardist Ian McLagan has announced a June 17 release of "United States," his first new studio album in five years.

McLagan recorded the self-produced 10-song set at his own Doghouse Studios in Manor, Texas, with his longtime bump Band, with Leigh Mahoney playing violin on the closing track "He's Not For You."

Veteran producer Glyn Johns, who worked on some Faces albums, mixed the set for McLagen, who told us he's been playing many of the songs in concert and is happy with the way they turned out:

"It sounds fucking great. We used...Darwin Smith. He's a really fine musician and engineer, and we recorded in my house, in my home studio, but instead of me engineering this time I just tog to play piano and sing, and it proved to be a very good thing."

McLagan's last studio album was 2009's "Never Say Never," which he recorded after the death of his wife, Kim, in a car accident. McLagan plans to tour extensively during the year. "United States' " tracklist includes: "All I Wanna Do," "Pure Gold," "Don't Say Nothing," "I'm Your Baby Now," "Mean Old World," "Love Letter," "Who Says It Ain't Love," "Shalala," "How Blue" and "He's Not For You."